KSSA Promoting Youth Sailing in Kent


Next KSSA events





KSSA Regatta 2009 at Wilsonian Sailing Club

The KSSA Annual Regatta, hosted by Wilsonian Sailing Club, was held on Saturday 19th September with an excellent turnout of 34 boats sailed by 40 enthusiastic youngsters, accompanied by a large number of supporting adults.

Before racing got underway Councillor John Davies, Chairman of Kent County Council, presented County Sailing Colours to Elliot Piper-Brown, Charlotte Fenn, and Tom Goodey with re-presentations to Stephanie Wicken & Richard Thomas. Charlotte Fenn also received the Nesham Driver Memorial Award towards her 2010 racing programme. The Chairman’s Cup for Special Endeavour during the past season was awarded to Jenny Pearson-Farr and Kirsty Greenslade for their prompt lifesaving action when they found an elderly, motionless gentleman face down in the water whilst they were out sailing in July.

Regrettably, the racing had to be postponed as the wind refused to pick up during the morning but after an early lunch a light easterly kicked in, enabling the four scheduled races (three to count) to be run back to back. A lapping course was set in Hoo Bay with results/prizes based on handicapped average lap times.

In Race 1 Elliot Piper-Brown (Laser) gradually eased ahead, with William Goldsmith/William Stonehewer-Smith (420), Richard Thomas (Laser Radial), Stephanie Wicken (Laser Radial) and Elizabeth Wauchope (Byte CII) jockeying for position behind. But although Piper-Brown held for line honours over the three legs he was relegated to second on corrected time with Wauchope claiming victory, Thomas 3rd, Wicken 4th and Goldsmith/Stonehewer-Smith 5th. Meanwhile Charlotte Fenn led the Toppers home but was rewarded with a disappointing 10th place.

Wicken got off to an excellent start in race 2 and held off the challenge from the other Lasers over the two laps but was upstaged by Fenn who finished well up with the leaders to win on handicap, forcing Wicken to accept second place. Although nine year old Ben Gray finished towards the back of the fleet in his humble Optimist it was sufficient to claim third spot on adjusted time with Thomas picking up a fourth and Wauchope a fifth.

Piper-Brown established a commanding lead in the third race closely followed by Wicken that was maintained to the line for first and second places respectively. Tom Goodey, Greg Fowler and Hannah Golton led the other Laser Radials home for third, fourth and fifth places.

The overall and class prizes were still up for grabs going into the final race. Wauchope led the fleet after the first lap with Piper-Brown snapping at her heels. On the final lap Goldsmith/Stonehewer-Smith overhauled the leaders and at the line finished half a boat length ahead of Piper-Brown for second and third places, as Wauchope recorded another win and Wicken a fourth. Fenn won a close contest with Sebastian Hansell by just a few inches on the line.

Special thanks go to Wilsonian SC for a great event in beautiful surroundings but quite challenging conditions – we all had a very enjoyable day, including the shore-side watchers!!

Overall Results and Prizes

1st Laser 161799 Elliot Piper-Brown (Minnis Bay SC) 1st single-hander handicap

2nd Byte CII 2632 Elizabeth Wauchope (King’s SC) 1st Girl & 2nd single-hander handicap

3rd Laser Radial 192800 Stephanie Wicken (Wilsonian SC) 1st Laser Radial

4th Laser Radial 193760 Richard Thomas (Broadstairs SC) 2nd Laser Radial

5th Topper 44942 Charlotte Fenn (Pevensey Bay SC) 1st Topper

6th Laser Radial 178493 Tom Goodey (Broadstairs SC) 3rd Laser Radial

7th 420 51049 William Goldsmith/William Stonehewer-Smith (King’s SC) 1st Double-hander handicap

8th Laser Radial 77515 Greg Fowler (Pevensey Bay SC) 4th Laser Radial

9th Laser Radial 191694 Hannah Golton (Herne Bay SC)

10th Optimist 4535 Ben Gray (Wilsonian SC) 1st Under 14 & Prelude Plaque

Other prizes

Topper 44982 Sebastian Hansell (Downs SC) 2nd Topper

Topper 45794 Benedict Cooper (Bough Beech SC) 3rd Topper

Topper 44954 Dan Fenn (Pevensey Bay SC) 4th Topper

Topper 8848 Chris Thomas (Broadstairs SC) 5th Topper

RS Feva 864 Mark Thomas/Johanna Pearson-Farr (Broadstairs SC) 2nd Double-hander handicap

King’s SC, Canterbury won the School Team prize
2009 Regatta

2009 Regatta

2009 Regatta

2009 Regatta

2009 Regatta

2009 Regatta

2009 Regatta