KSSA Promoting Youth Sailing in Kent
KSSA event



NSSA Match Racing Championships

ODSSA at Farmoor Reservoir hosted the Second NSSA Match Racing Championships over the weekend of April 16-17 2005.

Held in the ODSSA Beneteau First class 8’s this was a new venture for most of the dinghy sailors involved. It was a steep learning curve for most of the competitors and there is no doubt that the local ODSSA team had benefited from participation in the RYA Youth Match racing events last year.

Despite this, they did not have everything their own way, by Sunday the Laser sailors from Kent were beginning to get things together and their match against the ODSSA team was a ding dong affair. Kent were caught port and starboard in the pre-start but managed to offset that penalty with a port and starboard of their own at the windward mark. This was followed up with a quick luff, whilst the Oxford team were preoccupied with their spinnaker, to put a penalty on Oxford. On the next run Oxford attempted to catch the Kent team with a quick gybe onto starboard, only to have the umpires rule that it was a little too quick, giving them a second penalty and effectively ending their race.

Oxford, however, had by this time gained an unassailable lead in the three round robin competition and the fight was really for second place between Northampton and Kent. This was sailed in the form of a best of three sail off. In the first race Kent led off the start line but failed to cover them up the beat, giving away a substantial lead. On the next beat however Nothampton did the same thing and failed to react to the starboard tack Kent boat giving the first race to Kent. In the second race a riding turn on a Kent winch cost them the race forcing a deciding race, which Kent managed to win, but not easily.

The final shock of the day was when Northampton beat the Oxford team, who once again got a little too involved with their spinnaker. The end result was, therefore, a little closer than expected but it was Peter Sands of ODSSA who took the Spanish Trophy and is NSSA Match Racing Champion for 2005.

Overall Results:

Pos Helm Club
1st Peter Sands ODSSA
2nd Rob Waite Kent SSA